Cozumel’s Carnival 2011

Cozumel's Carnival 2011

Each year, since 1908, Cozumel celebrates its Carnival, the island’s time-honored pre-lenten festival. Grandparents, adults, teenagers and children alike come together to participate in the harmonically colorful and musical explosion. Within the Mexican-Caribbean, Cozumel displays the most popular and authentic Carnival Celebration; providing a more traditional and family oriented event. Locals and visitors enjoy five days of fun that includes parades, floats, traditional regional food, music and dancing. One of the highlight events of the festivities is the Comparsa Ball that features and incredible dance competition, not to be missed.

COZUMEL’S CARNIVAL 2011 PROGRAM

 Pre-Carnival Events

Events take place in the downtown square (DS), Moby Dick hall (MD) or along the seafront (SF).

Sat, Feb 12, 2011.
Presentation of the King and Queen candidates with costumes and dancing (MD) – 9pm.

Sun, Feb 13, 2011.
Public presentation of the King and Queen candidates with costumes (DS) – 7pm.

Sat, Feb 19, 2011.
Dancing and Voting for Cozumel Carnival King and Queen 2011 (MD) – 9pm.

Sun, Feb 20, 2011.
Public presentation of winners and party (DS) – 7pm.

Thu, Feb 24, 2011.
“Ladies Show” – evening of entertainment for the ladies (MD) – 5pm.

 Sat, Feb 26, 2011.
Dancing and Voting for Cozumel Carnival Children’s King and Queen 2011 (MD) – 5pm.

Sun, Feb 27, 2011.
Public presentation of children’s winners and party (DS) – 7pm.

Carnival Events

Wed, March 2, 2011.-
* Grand Opening and Coronation of Carnival King and Queen (DS) – 8pm.

Thu, March 3, 2011.-
* Costume/Dance Competition – Kindergarten categories (MD) – 10am.
* Costume/Dance Competition – School categories (MD) – 5pm.

Fri, March 4, 2011.
* Costume Competition – Infants, Children and Pets (MD) – 10am.
* Free Public Dance (DS) – 9pm.
* Dance and Costume Competition (MD) – 9pm.

Sat, Mar 5, 2011.
* First Grand Carnival Parade (SF) – 6pm.
* Free Public Dance (DS) – 9pm.
* Costume Competition (MD) – 9pm
* “Belinda in Concert” (Mexican Singer) (MD) – 1.30am (Sunday)Sun, Mar 6, 2011.
* Second Grand Carnival Parade (SF) – 6pm.
* Free Public Dance with performance by “La Sonora Dinamita” (DS) – 9pm.

Mon, Mar 7, 2011
* Free Public Dance (DS) – 9pm.
* Tropical Dance Night with “Los Internacionales Joao” (MD) – 9pm.

Tue, Mar 8, 2011.
* Final Grand Carnival Parade (SF) – 6pm.
* Special Carnival Show (DS) – 10pm.

Wed, Mar 9, 2011.
* Awards and Traditional Burning of Juan Carnaval (DS) – 8pm. 

 

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.

Designed for Logos in Collaboration with Corporate Office and Listen to Radio Stations and Things to do in Phoenix